Is It Halal to Drink Coca Cola?

Answered by Ustadh Salman Younas

Question: Is coke halal? There have been some rumors that it contains pork derivatives and alcohol etc. Could you please clarify this?

Answer: assalamu `alaykum

To my knowledge, based on official statements from Coca Cola, their product does not contain any animal derivatives nor any alcohol.

Though Coke has other worrying aspects to it in relation to personal health, one cannot deem it impermissible based on such unsubstantiated rumors.

Allah Most High said, “Oh believers, if an evil-doer comes to you with a report, investigate it carefully, lest you afflict a people unwittingly, and then repent of what you have done.” (49:6) This verse indicates that a report needs to be substantiated before it can be confirmed as being true as the consequences of an unsubstantiated report may be quite harmful. Imam Qurtubi mentions that when this verse was revealed the Prophet (Allah bless him) said, “Circumspection is from Allah and haste from the devil.” [Tirmidhi]

As such, it is our responsibility to cease passing judgment or forwarding information in haste without proper verification.

To continue spreading these rumors without proper verification would be akin to lying and should be strictly avoided. The Qur’anic and prophetic dictate mentioned above is especially pertinent in the times we live in where the internet and mass-media have made the flow of information much easier.

Wassalam
Salman

Checked & Approved by Faraz Rabbani