Is Gelatin from a Non-Islamically Slaughtered Halal Animal Haram?

Hanafi Fiqh

Answered by Mawlana Ilyas Patel


Is gelatin made from a halal animal (i.e., Cows) but was not initially slaughtered in the Islamic manner still considered halal?


In the Name of Allah, the Most Merciful and Compassionate

I pray you are well and in good faith and health.

Most Hanafi fuqaha in our times consider gelatin made from non-Islamically slaughtered animals impure, just like gelatin derived from pork. Saying that the change it undergoes from its original state is not sufficient to be considered essential transformation (Tabdil al-Mahiyya). [Ibn ’Abidin, Radd al-Muhtar]

Why not begin your search for knowledge by signing up for a course on SeekersGuidance?

I pray this helps with your question.
[Mawlana] Ilyas Patel
Checked and Approved by Shaykh Faraz Rabbani

Mawlana Ilyas Patel is a traditionally-trained scholar who has studied in the UK, India, Pakistan, Syria, Jordan, and Turkey. He started his early education in the UK. He went on to complete the hifz of the Quran in India, then enrolled in an Islamic seminary in the UK, where he studied the secular and ‘Aalimiyya sciences. He then traveled to Karachi, Pakistan. He has been an Imam in Rep of Ireland for several years. He has taught hifz of the Quran, Tajwid, Fiqh, and many other Islamic sciences to children and adults onsite and online extensively in the UK and Ireland. He taught at a local Islamic seminary for 12 years in the UK, where he was a librarian and a teacher of Islamic sciences. He currently resides in the UK with his wife. His interest is a love of books and gardening.