How Many Pillars Are There in Islam?

Answered by Ustadha Raidah Shah Idil

Question: How many pillars are there in Islam?

Answer:Dear questioner,

I pray this finds you well. Thank you for your question.

There are five pillars of Islam:

1) Testifying that there is no God but Allah and that Muhammed (upon him be blessings and peace) is His Messenger
2) Establishing prayer
3) Giving Zakat
4) Pilgrimage to the Ka’ba
5) Fasting in Ramadan

When registration reopens, I encourage you to complete this course Being Muslim: A Clear Introduction to Islam. This is also a very helpful article: The Dimensions of the Religion – Excerpt from the Forthcoming Book “Being Muslim” by Asad Tarsin.

Please keep in touch.

With peace,

Checked & Approved by Shaykh Faraz Rabbani

Photo: Peter Kirkeskov Rasmussen