Is It Permissible to Eat Vegetarian Food Prepared by Non-muslims? (Shafi’i)

Shafi'i Fiqh

Answered by Ustadh Shuaib Ally

Question: Assalam alaykum,

What is the ruling on eating vegetarian food that has been prepared by a non-Muslim (e.g. Hindu), particularly if it has been part of a prayer ritual?

Answer: Assalamu alaykum

Scholars generally consider it permissible to eat vegetarian food prepared by non-Muslims, even if one suspects that a prayer of sorts may have accompanied its preparation. This is because there is nothing that prohibits consuming this food, and the default ruling is permissibility.

The prohibition of consuming That over which any name other than God’s has been invoked [Qur’an, 2.173] [Qur’an, 5.3] [Qur’an, 16.115] refers to the sacrifice of animals, not plants.

Some scholars may advise staying away from partaking in food that one suspects has been part of something that does not accord with Islamic beliefs, either out of discomfort, or because one does not want to be seen as being in support of such activities, but the food itself remains permissible.

Allah knows best.

Shuaib Ally