Is Tofu Permissible (Halal) To Eat?


Hanafi

Answered by Shaykh Yusuf Weltch

Question 

Is tofu permissible (halal) to eat?

 

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Merciful and Compassionate

Tofu is permissible to eat. There is nothing in tofu that would make it impermissible. Tofu is made from condensed soy milk using a process similar to cheesemaking. 

Hope this helps

Allah knows best

[Shaykh] Yusuf Weltch

Checked and Approved by Shaykh Faraz Rabbani

 

Shaykh Yusuf Weltch is a teacher of Arabic, Islamic law, and spirituality. After accepting Islam in 2008, he completed four years at the Darul Uloom seminary in New York, where he studied Arabic and the traditional sciences. He then traveled to Tarim, Yemen, where he stayed for three years studying in Dar Al-Mustafa under some of the greatest scholars of our time, including Habib Umar Bin Hafiz, Habib Kadhim al-Saqqaf, and Shaykh Umar al-Khatib. In Tarim, Shaykh Yusuf completed the memorization of the Qur’an and studied beliefs, legal methodology, hadith methodology, Qur’anic exegesis, Islamic history, and several texts on spirituality. He joined the SeekersGuidance faculty in the summer of 2019.